The Welcome Sign

There is a welcome sign hanging near my front door. It has a picture of a busy little hummingbird on it. And it is incongruous. For no one except my closest relatives is welcome without notice. I have often dreaded a knock at the front door. I don’t like unexpected visitors and I don’t like door to door canvassers.

This is not because I don’t like people, I do. I like people when I choose to go out and I choose to talk to them. In my own home I choose peace and quiet reflection. I choose my inner world.

I am an Introvert. In fact in Myers Brigg personality type tests I am always classified as INFP.

“INFPs never seem to lose their sense of wonder. One might say they see life through rose-colored glasses” ~~~ Joe Butt http://www.typelogic.com/infp.html

“What is the joke?” a grumpy old co-worker once asked me, causing me to rouse myself from my inner world to the ‘real’ world, I had been smiling because I was happy. To be happy any of the following might have occurred:

    • It was a nice sunny day;
    • I just watched a pretty bird darting about in the bushes;
    • I smelt a rose;
    • Someone smiled at me;
    • I watched a cute dog/cat/horse/any animal at all running happily.

No, I must stop my list of the small things that make me smile or it could run on for pages and pages, but you get the idea.

Joe Butt (http://www.typelogic.com) says “INFPs never seem to lose their sense of wonder”.  I am aware of this, I know that I am a mature woman that has something of the child still in me, there is hardly a day when I don’t stop to watch something that fascinates me but would (I assume) go unnoticed by others.

A few weeks ago it was a bee darting in and out of the purple flowers on our front hedge. Not just any bee this bee was blue! I had never seen or heard of a blue bee in all my x years. It was beautiful, it shimmered in the sunlight and was the colour of the sky, if you could boil the sky down a bit and intensify it’s blueness into a deeper shade.  I stood for quite a while watching this beautiful bee, and then I did what I always do, went inside to look up blue bees on the internet. They are not unknown, they are not that rare. Fancy me of all people never having noticed a blue bee before.

Ever since then I watch out for the blue bee. I have seen one other one but they are not common here.  Anyway I like the regular old bees too; I like their shiny orange-ness and their busy buzz.

There you go, I felt a sense of joy just remembering back to the blue bee, am I a little crazy or what? No, apparently I am exactly as I am supposed to be, psychologically speaking.

I started reading a book yesterday, “The Introvert Advantage – How to Thrive in an Extrovert World” by Marti Olsen Laney, Psy.D.  So far I have been saying “yes”, “wow yes, that is so me”.  Someone recommended the book on their blog or rather said something like “suddenly everything made sense”.

~ by menabiilly on September 20, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
